Reveling In the Small

Silence for a while. I wanted to write, but what I had to say was too private, too raw to put on these pages.

2016 is a year where Romans 5:3-5 is near and real, “we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope;  and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

The numbness, then crushing sadness, then unabated hope crash upon me and words feel insufficient.

Yet, there is joy. Sometimes the normalcy is where I find my greatest comfort. There are little things in my daily life that bridge the gap between my Asian home and my American home, and all the homes I lived in between.

I share with you small wonders of my day-to-day.

FavoriteThings-1

Coffee. In the morning. It’s pretty much at the top of my list of favorite things. I also can’t help but think of my five weeks in Italy. *sigh*

FavoriteThings-3

Just a spoonful of Mexican chocolate helps the coffee go down… All the way from Java in Boise, Idaho.

FavoriteThings-6

Frothed milk completes my delectable morning potion.

FavoriteThings-5

My kitchen is tiny and, well, dark. I decided to take my love of vibrant, saturated color and transform our poorly stained, dark brown cabinets. My color tastes may be inspired by my early childhood in Latin America.

FavoriteThings-13

I am an artist. Again, I prefer to surround myself with happy colors.

FavoriteThings-14

My multi-functional dream space, quiet-time, creativity, and sometimes time-out chair. (I designed the chair and had it made here in Phnom Penh.)

FavoriteThings-16

My plants after the rain. The start to rainy season drives out the oppressive heat and makes the world green again. Since I live closed in by concrete, I created my own little green space.

SveyReingMay2016-15

Big fluffy clouds and getting to go into the Province for work! I love my job at CIF.

 

Leave a Reply

